The Psychology Department draws faculty from around the University. Courses in the Psychology core curriculum are taught by professors from many different disciplines.

Core Faculty

Rachel Barr

Professor | Chair, Department of Psychology

Andrea Bonior

Teaching Professor
Director of The Connection Project: Hoyas Connected

Casey Brown

Assistant Professor

Rosario Ceballo Ph.D.

Dean, College of Arts & Sciences and Professor of Psychology

Yulia Chentsova Dutton

Associate Professor

Jessica Chiang

Assistant Professor

Dick Dubbelde

Assistant Teaching Professor

Adam Green

Professor | Co-Director of Graduate Studies

Anna Johnson

Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor

Kostadin Kushlev

Assistant Professor

Ian Lyons

Associate Professor

Janet Mann

Distinguished University Professor

Abigail A. Marsh


Fathali Moghaddam

Professor, Department of Psychology. Editor, Cambridge University Press, Progressive Psychology Book Series

WGerrod Parrott


Rebecca Ryan


Deborah Stearns

Teaching Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Chandan Vaidya

Professor, Department of Psychology

Kristia Wantchekon

Assistant Professor

Jennifer Woolard

Professor | Vice Dean for Faculty Affairs

Emeritus Faculty

Sandra Calvert

Emerita Professor
Director, Children’s Digital Media Center

David S. Crystal

Emeritus Associate Professor

Darlene Howard

Emeritus Professor
Davis Family Distinguished Professor emeritus

James T. Lamiell

Emeritus Professor

Deborah Phillips

Professor Emerita

Steven Sabat

Professor Emeritus of Psychology

Affiliated Faculty

Matthew Biel

Tenure Line — Professor | Director-select
Professor and Division Chief of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, GUMC/GUSOM/MedStar Health

Guinevere Eden

Professor | Director, Center for the Study of Learning
Professor, Department of Pediatrics, and Director, Center for the Study of Learning (CSL)

Nathan Fox


Rhonda Friedman

Professor and Vice Chair of Neurology | Director, Center for Aphasia Research and Rehabilitation
Professor, Department of Neurology VP, University Faculty Senate

William Gormley

Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
University Professor; Co-Director, Center for Research on Children in the U.S. (CROCUS)

Adanna Johnson

Associate Vice President for Student Equity and Inclusion
Affiliate Faculty, Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences; Affiliate Faculty, Earth Commons Institute

Jagmeet Kanwal

Associate Professor | Co-Director of the Cognitive Science Program

David Lightfoot

Professor Emeritus

Elissa Newport

Tenure Line — Professor
Director, Center for Brain Plasticity and Recovery; Professor of Neurology, Rehabilitation Medicine, Psychology, and Linguistics

Amy Parish


Laura-Ann Petitto

Affiliated Faculty

Ted Supalla

Tenure Line — Professor
Professor of Neurology, Linguistics, and Psychology; Center for Brain Plasticity and Recovery

Kenneth Tercyak

Tenure Line — Professor | CPC Co-Program Leader

Michael Ullman

Director, Brain and Language Laboratory

Adjunct Faculty

Jelena Kecmanovic

Adjunct Professor – Department of Psychology

Brett Pelham

Adjunct Faculty